Skip to main content

Military Medal For Gallantry

Military Medal for Gallantry (MMG)

Information About the Medal

In 1944 a medal to be known as “An Bonn Míleata Calmachta” or, in English, “The Military Medal for Gallantry” was introduced. This medal may be awarded to officers, non-commissioned officers and privates of the Defence Forces and to members of the Army Nursing and Chaplaincy Services in recognition of the performance of any act of exceptional bravery or gallantry (other than one performed on war service) arising out of, or associated with, military service and involving risk to life and limb.

Classes of award

The medal may be awarded in the following classes:-

  • With Honour;
  • With Distinction;
  • With Merit.

Bar to Medal

The medal in any one of the classes shall not be awarded more than once to any one person but, for each succeeding act sufficient to justify a further award in the same class, a bar to the medal in that class shall be awarded.

The Military Medal for Gallantry

With Honour
With Distinction
With Merit

Recipients of the Medal

TprAnthony BrowneCongo - ONUCDistinction
CaptAdrian AinsworthLebanon - UNIFILDistinction
LtAnthony BrackenLebanon - UNIFILDistinction
CplMichael JonesLebanon - UNIFILDistinction
PteMichael John DalyLebanon - UNIFILDistinction
Comdt Michael LynchLebanon - UNIFILDistinction
PtePaul CoventryLebanon - UNIFILMerit
PteThomas MetcalfeIrelandMerit