Skip to main content

Distinguished Service Medal

The Distinguished Service Medal (DSM)

Infomation About the Medal

On 18 February 1964 a medal to be known as “An Bonn Seirbhíse Dearscna” or, in English, “The Distinguished Service Medal”, was introduced by the Defence Forces. The medal may be awarded to officers, non-commissioned officers and privates of the Defence Forces and to members of the Army Nursing and Chaplaincy Services in recognition of individual or associated acts of bravery, courage, leadership, resource or devotion to duty (other than any such acts or duty performed on war service) arising out of, or associated with, service in the Defence Forces and not meriting the award of An Bonn Míleata Calmachta.

Classes of Award

The medal may be awarded in the following classes:-

  1. With Honour
  2. With Distinction
  3. With Merit
Bar to Medal

The medal in any one of the classes prescribed shall not be awarded more than once to any one person but, for each succeeding act sufficient to justify a further award in the same class, a bar to the medal in that class may be awarded.

Distinguished Service Medal With Honour
Distinguished Service Medal With Distinction
Distinguished Service Medal With Merit